“To Mentor, The Art of Teaching”

 “To Mentor, The Art of Teaching”

Susan B Anthony, Helen Keller, and many great women of history may have set out on differing journeys, but they each had one thing in common.  They had a mentor, a teacher, to provide them with the wisdom and strength to carry on.  Such as Anne Sullivan served to Keller, I have also had a couple of great mentors help guide my path to personal and professional development.

I thought about this topic all day as I mentally prepared for my post tonight and realized that regardless of our work or passion; whether you are sitting outside the big office
continuing to “creep” your way up, looking out the window of the mahogany lined office you have now achieved, or serving as an unyielding stay at home mom.  You as well, need a mentor, a “wise and trusted counselor” to assist in the continual evolution of your journey.

I became aware of mentoring early on in my career through my observations of those leaders around me.  Since there was no “formal” mentoring program in place for individuals at my level of the company at the time; I set out on a personal mission to find one on my own.  I did it on my own because I am responsible for my success or failure and you are yours.  As you begin seeking out your mentor keep in mind the thoughts below.

  • First and foremost your mentor should be someone that is easily approachable.  The most important key to a successful mentoring relationship is communication.  If you are unable to feel at ease discussing both your strengths and weaknesses with your mentor then the relationship will have no real opprtunity for success.
  • Seek someone regarded as being highly successful in your industry.  An individual’s title may indicate success, but I believe to deem someone as being highly successful means that they are well respected by both peers and subordinates and they demonstrate expertise in both technical understanding and emotional intelligence. 
  • Your mentor should have the ability and willingness to serve as an advocate for your cause.  A great mentor is one that is willing to assist you in setting up a solid professional network.  This includes providing opportunities to introduce you to individuals within their network.
  • A positive attitude.  Your mentor should be positive about the mentoring relationship as well as the working environment in general.   It is nearly impossible to be motivated by someone with a negative outlook.
  • A great mentor is one who is in tune with the corporate culture around you and can provide you with the wisdom for successfully navigating within it.
  • Willingness to discuss tough issues.  A great mentor will recognize your strengths, but also identify your weeknesses.   They will be willing to assist in defining a plan to over come / improve these weeknesses.
  • Lastly, be prepared to serve as a mentor yourself for others!  There is no greater joy than passing on the wisdom you have obtained and encouraging another toward success in their journey.

Have you been involved in a mentoring relationship that you would like to share?  Where you the mentor or mentee?  What made it a great success or failure?

Submit your e-mail address in the upper right hand corner of this page to recieve notice when a new story has been added.  You can also provide your comments and thoughts to each post by clicking “Comment”.

If you enjoy my blog then share it.You can my stories via the Facebook and Twitter links below.

Want to know more about me?  Check out my website at http://www.taniahotmer.com.

About Tania Hotmer
In a nutshell: I am a wife, a mother, a daughter, and a career-woman. **Disclaimer: My blogs and responses to other bloggers are my personal views and opinions**

3 Responses to “To Mentor, The Art of Teaching”

  1. Pingback: Women’s Groups can be vehicles for mentoring « Talk to the Youth

  2. Pingback: Tips for Success in life and business | Kelly Business Advisors, LLC

  3. Anonymous says:

    this is really helpful

Leave a Reply

